SBLD Studio is an award-winning WBE firm internationally recognized as a leader in the industry. Since 1994 we have built a reputation for cutting edge lighting design solutions for large scale, complex architectural and interior projects. We are dedicated to the design of architectural lighting systems with an emphasis on creative and integrated solutions. Utilizing state-of-the-art technology, we employ a broad array of methodologies supporting all aspects of our design process; from the development of conceptual studies and presentation techniques, extensive lighting simulations and technical analysis, leading on to detailed documentation and construction management including site related trouble shooting and problem resolution. Our philosophy is “hands on” from start to finish, assuring all projects are successfully completed as conceptualized.


Our current staff of ten consists of three principals, Susan Brady, Sara Demel, and Bruce Taylor. There are also one senior designer, four designers, as well as two administrative personnel. The combined staff experience covers architectural lighting design and related disciplines including environmental design, interior design, architecture, industrial design, and electrical engineering.


Our portfolio encompasses a broad variety of domestic and international projects including: corporate office interiors, law firms and trading floors; academic and civic institutions; commercial buildings and lobbies; healthcare and laboratory facilities; historic preservation projects; sports and recreational facilities; performance venues; transportation facilities; museums, art and exhibit spaces; landscape lighting; restaurants, hotels and hospitality projects; retail and showroom spaces; and themed entertainment environments. 


© Peter Aaron/ESTO; John Bartelstone; Hedrich Blessing; NC Hedrich Blessing; Ron Blunt; Andrew Bordwin; Fredrich Charles; Chuck Choi; David DeArmas; ESTO; EXUM Photo; ©Jeff Goldberg/ESTO; Tim Griffiths; Steve Hall © Hedrich Blessing; ©Timothy Hursley; © Eduard Hueber Archphoto; Elliott Kaufman Photography; Tom Kessler; Eric Laignel; Nic Lehoux; Bjorg Magnea; Jon Miller © Hedrich Blessing; Michael Moran; Rion Rizzo/Creative Sources Photography; Jasper Sanidad; Ron Solomon Photography; Douglas Spranger; Jim Tetro; Attila Uysal; ©Albert Vecerka/ESTO; Woodruff/Brown Architectural Photography; ©Jimmy Chan Photography; ©Gotham

Site Design
Florio Design

Site Build
Curious Minds Media